Board Member Bios


Mr. J. Dana Pruhs Chair, Public Member

Mr. J. Dana Pruhs, of Anchorage, was appointed to the Board on August 15, 2013. He is a lifelong Alaskan and the owner of Pruhs Construction, Quality Sand and Gravel, Meridian Investments, and Harr Technologies. Having been previously involved in a number of public service roles, including the Alaska Board of Game, Pruhs currently services on the Alaska Royalty Oil and Gas Development Advisory Board, the Municipality of Anchorage Planning and Zoning Commission, and the Associated General Contractors Board of Directors.

Mr. Pruhs earned a bachelor's degree in transportation engineering from California Polytechnic State University.

Appointed: 08/15/2013

Reappointed: 07/2019

Expires: 6/30/2021

Elected Vice-Chair: 10/01/2013


Mr. Bernie Karl Vice Chair, Public Member

Mr. Karl, of Fairbanks, was appointed to the Board on November 15, 2017. Mr. Karl is the owner of Chena Hot Springs Resort, LLC. Mr. Karl was named the University of Alaska Fairbanks Business Leader of the Year in 2010.

Appointed: 11/15/2017

Reappointed: 07/2019

Expires: 6/30/2021


Ms. Julie Anderson Commissioner, Dept of Commerce

Commissioner Julie Anderson was appointed to the board on January 3, 2019. She was recently chair of the Anchorage Chamber of Commerce and is the owner of Denali Management Solutions. Prior to that she worked for many years at Alyeska Pipeline as a technical business strategy manager.

Julie comes from a large family in the Interior, has a daughter and four wonderful grandchildren, and has been fortunate to have worked and traveled throughout the State of Alaska. Commissioner Anderson has experience in both the private and public sectors. She is excited about the opportunity to work with the State of Alaska to ensure the mission of DCCED is met and to promote new business development in the State.

Appointed: 12/03/2019

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development

550 West 7th Avenue

Anchorage, AK 99501



Mr. Albert Fogle Public Member

Mr. Fogle was appointed to the board on January 7, 2019. Originally from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Albert moved to Alaska while serving in the United States Army as an Infantry Team Leader and Communications Operator. His years of active duty service included a tour in Iraq. After exiting the Army in 2007, Albert attended the University of Alaska Anchorage where he received a bachelor’s degree in Finance with a minor in Criminal Justice.

In 2010, Albert joined RISQ Consulting as an Employee Benefits and Business Consultant, where he was responsible for developing, implementing and executing strategic sales plans to achieve RISQ Consulting’s sales goals and objectives. He was also a member of the executive team. Albert left RISQ Consulting in 2018 to run unsuccessfully for the Alaska State House.

In 2019, Albert joined the Alaska Chamber of Commerce as Vice President, where he is responsible for advocacy, government affairs, management and financial oversight. He is a board member and past Treasurer of Health eConnect, past board member of Alaskan AIDS Assistance Association, and past two-time president of Alaska Association of Health Underwriters.

Albert takes advantage of living in Alaska by hiking, biking, and skiing. When Albert is not traveling, he enjoys spending time with his family and dogs.

Appointed: 01/07/2019 Expires: 06/30/2020


Mr. Bill Kendig Public Member

Mr. Kendig has been in the Mat-Su Valley for over 30 years and brings 25 years of Real Estate Lending experience with him. He is heavily involved in his community. He spent the last 20 years on the Knik-Fairview Community Council and is currently serving as President. He has also served on the Mat- Su Borough Planning Commission for 3 years as Vice- chair and is currently on the Board of Directors for Matanuska Electric Association. He has enjoyed all the pleasures the valley and the State of Alaska have to offer.

Appointed: 11/28/2018

Expires: 6/30/2020


Mr. Greg Samorajski Deputy Commissioner, Department of Revenue

Deputy Commissioner Samorajski was appointed on December 28, 2019. He has lived in Alaska since 1997 and worked as a portfolio manager and Director of Investments for McKinley Capital for most of his tenure in state. More recently, he served as Chief Financial Officer for the True North Federal Credit Union in Juneau. Prior to arriving in Alaska, Samorajski served as Senior Economist and Manager of Financial Instruments at the Chicago Board of Trade, as an Investment Officer at the First National Bank of Chicago, and on staff of the accounting firm of Deloitte, Haskins & Sells. He has served on the faculties of the Illinois Institute of Technology and Alaska Pacific University, has been a member of the Anchorage chapter of the American Cancer Society advisory board, and is currently on the Diocese of Juneau finance council.

Deputy Commissioner Samorajski earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Mathematics from Northwestern University and a Master of Business Administration degree from the University of Chicago.

Appointed: 12/28/2018

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 670
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
11th Floor State Office Building



Ms. Julie Sande Public Member

Julie A. Sande of Ketchikan, was appointed to the board on January 7, 2019. She is a lifelong Alaskan and is an owner of Marble Construction, White Rock Development, White Rock Holdings, Hump Island Oyster Co., and Marble Seafoods. In addition to her role as a community business leader, Sande has also served as the director of the Ketchikan Pioneer Home since her appointment by then Governor Murkowski in 2002. Sande was nominated to the Ketchikan General Hospital Governing Board in 2006 and has continued serving the board of Peace Health Ketchikan Medical Center since that time in multiple committee roles including as the Board Chair from 2014-2016.

Sande earned her B.A from the University of Montana-Missoula and her Master’s degree in Healthcare Administration from the University of Southern California - Price School of Public Policy.

Sande was raised in the remote logging camps of Southeast, Alaska where she along with husband, Trevor Sande, continue to own property. She is the proud mother of Shawn Patrick and Campbell Rose.

Appointed: 01/07/2019

Expires: 06/30/2020